B&B award winner playa matapalo costa rica

Rates & Availability

Use ‘Pura Vida’ as voucher code for the lowest online rate!

Reviews Jardín de los Monos, Matapalo beach Costa Rica

We are very happy with what guest say about our B&B Jardín de los Monos. Please read this small selection of verified reviews from TripAdvisor, AirBnB and Booking.com by going over the tabs. You can read more reviews by clicking on the widgets of TripAdvisor, AirBnB & Booking.com.

Betsy

TripAdvisor: 5 of 5 stars

“My favorite place”

This B&B is fantastic. The owners are a wonderful couple who make you feel at home automatically. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. The grounds are a garden paradise with beautiful plants and comfortable decks and patio furniture and hammocks to relax in. The breakfast is wonderful. And the best coffee I had while on my month long trip. I stayed in 6 different locations and this was by far my favorite. Monkeys, Sloths, Tucana and more are here in this garden paradise.

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple

Betsy (USA)

Josette

TripAdvisor: 5 of 5 stars

“Great Peaceful Place To Stay With A Great Beach”

My wife and I were traveling around Costa Rica and thought Dominical and Manuel Antonio were a little to touristy and busy for us. Luckily we found Matapalo. Jardin de los Monos was a great place to stay. The room was large, very clean and everything seemed almost brand new. We really enjoyed the Dutch pancakes and the homemade bread and fruit. The owners Lettika and Gijs were very nice and did a great job of making sure you were taken care of while also giving you privacy. Matapalo seemed more quiet and authentic while still being close to the national parks and tourist attractions. You could walk miles of uncrowded beach and many times be all by yourself or only a few local surfers. We had a really good time staying there and would like to again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple

Josette (USA)

Caysee (Deutsch)

TripAdvisor: 5 of 5 stars

“Fantastisch!!!”

Wir haben hier “leider” nur eine Nacht auf unserer Reise durch Costa Rica verbringen können.
Ich kann diese Unterkunft absolut nur weiterempfehlen!!!
Die beiden Besitzer sind aus den Niederlanden und super freundlich! Sie haben uns herzlich empfangen, nebenbei über alles wissenswerte aufgeklärt. Zur Wiederholung findet man nahezu alle Infos auch in einer Mappe, welche neben dem Bett steht!
Auf Empfehlung der Besitzer haben wir eine “Reittour” bei Claudia(Schweizerin)gemacht. Diese war auch super toll. Die Pferde sind in super guten Händen u. denen geht es sehr gut, weshalb wir uns überhaupt für sowas entschieden haben. Als “alte” Pferdeliebhaberin war mir dies sehr wichtig, weil ich so etwas normal nicht mache…
Aber es war einfach nur toll! Reiten am Strand, die Natur sowie die Tiere erleben u. den Kräutergarten bestaunen.
Am Abend bekamen wir dann noch von den Besitzern einen Tipp für ein gutes Fischrestaurant, welches ebenfalls ausgezeichnet war.
Man kann in dem kleinen süßen Hotel entweder in der Hängematte dem Meeresrauschen lauschen oder im Garten in einem Loungebereich die Idylee genießen.
Das Meer ist im übrigen nur wenige hundert Meter entfernt.
Und “last but not least” das Frühstück! Man kann am Vorabend aus diversen Kategorien auswählen was man alles möchte….Kaffee,Tee, Saft, Smoothie, Ei, selbstgemachtes Brot, holländischem Pancake u. Obst!!!
Für unsere Weiterreise nach Panama erhielten wir ebenfalls Tipps.
Fazit: Eine sehr persönliche Atmosphäre, super freundlich u. hilfsbereit u. für uns das beste Hotel bzw. Unterkunft auf unserer Reise durch 6 Länder in Mittelamerika!

Caysee (Germany)

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple

Joao (Español)

TripAdvisor: 5 of 5 stars

“Genial!!! El mejor B&B del viaje.”

Que puedo decir? Genial.
Mejor sitio donde hemos dormido en costa rica.
Habitación genial, súper cómoda y súper limpia…y despertarse con monos en los árboles no tiene precio.
Desayuno muy bueno con pan y crepes caseros.
Los dueños son holandeses y se nota inmediatamente el toque europeo en el B&B.
B&B apenas con 2 habitaciones.
Óptima relación calidad/precio.
Hemos reservado por casualidad en Matapalo y íbamos sólo dormir pero nos encantó la zona. Un consejo – reservad por lo menos 2 noches.

Joao & Maria (Portugal & Spain)

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple

Kayleigh

TripAdvisor: 5 of 5 stars

“Absolutely Amazing: Peaceful, Monkeys, Sloth’s, Beach = Paradise”

When travelling around beautiful Costa Rica after a four hour hot drive we came across this gem of a place. We were lucky enough to be the first guest there and I cannot express enough how stunning this place is. It was very romantic and something my boyfriend and I will not forget. The owners are incredible and very friendly and helpful with lots of inside knowledge of Costa Rica, they helped us find an amazing waterfall nearby. The rooms are big, clean and of a high standard. The breakfast is amazing and they could not be more hospitable. If you have been travelling rough for a while, this will sort you right out. You are literally in the middle of Jungle so you get to see so many animals in their natural environment. We saw monkey’s crossing over to get into the jungle, we saw sloths sleeping in a tree a humming bird and its nest, a big toad and lots of other things too. This is like something I have never seen before, peaceful, beautiful, making you see things in a different perspective. Quite literally, it’s Paradise. Lettika & Gijs are an amazing couple and my partner and I are so grateful to them for this experience.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple

Kayleigh (UK)

Agnes

AirBnB: 5 of 5 stars

“This was our best B&B during our 3 weeks trip to Costa Rica!”

Jardin de monos was easy to find – great directions provided by Lettica & Gijs. The rooms are big and everything is clean, the bathroom has a huge shower. There is a comfortable outdoor area in the backyard, terrace directly in front of the rooms incl. hammocks, a seating area where the breakfast is served. The beach is only a short walk (about one minute) away and it was the best beach we had during our stay. Most of the time we have been alone there. The breakfast was very tasty and freshly prepared every morning (e.g. homemade bread, high quality ham, eggs, fresh fruits & juice and of course coffee). Lettika and Gijs are great hosts, we felt very welcomed all the time. They showed us the animals in their garden (there are really a lot!), helped us planning our stay, made us coffee very early in the morning,… This was our best B&B during our 3 weeks trip to Costa Rica! Great place to be and highly recommended!!! Especially due to Lettica & Gijs, best host ever in a fantastic part of a wonderful country!!! Make sure you go there and enjoy pura vida 🙂

Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple

Agnes (Germany)

Gunnar

AirBnB: 5 of 5 stars

“This is a real life zoo!”

What a great experience with Lettika and Gijs! It was a great stay with you guys! To give potential guests great insights, why this was such a special stay, I will describe our average day: Were woken up by some toucans in the trees and started the day with a great hot shower. After this great start Lettika served the best breakfast. The choice between homemade bread or a Dutch pancake, was always a tough one. However this was not the only thing she offered. A big bowl of fruits for me, a smoothie for my girlfriend, choices of eggs and selected coffee – what a great start in the day! After we bathed in compliments for the breakfast, she gave us great insights on what we should do next: swimming (with their body board), horseback riding with Claudia, a visit by the waterfalls, the local market in San Isidro and so on. After talking about their beautiful garden, the friendly and playful guard dog “Texel” or the hideous cat “Buff”, we were interrupted by capuchin monkey crossing the nearby trees. Wow – that was awesome! This is a real life zoo! After we came back in the afternoon we sat down in their beautiful chill area, took a nap or had a beer with our two hosts! All in all it was a great experience! This is what AirBnB makes so special, because it feels more like staying and visiting a friend, than being in a hotel with strangers! We can totally recommend the stay at Lettika and Gijs!

Stayed November 2015, traveled as a couple

Gunnar (Germany)

Hanako

Booking.com: 10 of 10 stars

“A little Paradise in harmony with nature”

A little Paradise in harmony with nature with beautiful monkeys, sloths and next to an amazing beach. Your breakfast will be cooked with love by Latika. Latika and her husband will do everything to make you happy. Great location and great activities can be done in the area, I highly recommend the horse riding with their friend Claudia!

Hanako (France)

Stayed November 2015, traveled as a couple

Elizabeth

Booking.com: 10 of 10 stars

“Beautiful B&B”

This B&B was fantastic the owners were welcoming and made you feel at home as soon as you as you arrived.  The room was beautiful and the garden was also beautiful with sloths, monkeys, toucans everyday we were there.  The breakfast was wonderful.  I loved the homemade bread. This was my favorite location out of the 5 others I stayed at during my month in Costa Rica.

Elizabeth (USA)

Stayed December 2015, traveled as a couple